Home/United States/Utah/Utah County
Data centers in Utah County, Utah: 7 projects mapped
Utah County has seven tracked data center sites, most in Eagle Mountain. Meta runs a 133-megawatt campus there and is adding three buildings, an administration building and a warehouse, after the city council approved an expansion and raised Meta's water allocation from 500 to 625 acre-feet a year in October 2025. QTS is building a data center campus next to Meta's with no-water cooling, and Tract has two more sites proposed nearby, Pole Canyon and Pony Express. The county's other operating site is the National Security Agency's Utah Data Center in Bluffdale.
Eagle Mountain's expansion has come with a fight over money. On August 6, 2026, the city council approved a 183% property tax increase, its first rise since 2010; residents objected to the size of the increase and to the tax breaks given to data centers, and 13 residents led by Alex Washburn filed a referendum. The council repealed it on August 18 and adopted a 69.81% increase instead, adding $99 a year to a median home's tax bill to fund a sheriff's contract.
Read more
At the county's south end, Santaquin approved the off-grid Summit Ridge Data Center with little public notice; Orem-based Data Center Power Company plans a 20-megawatt-or-larger facility powered by its own natural gas engines near the Summit Ridge Parkway exit on I-15. Mayor Dan Olson said the developer returned with its own power generation after being turned away for insufficient grid capacity. Resident Kelsy Trane's petition against the project, sited near homes and a children's soccer park, passed 1,350 signatures.
Provo's city council voted down a rezoning request in March 2026 for a 66,000-square-foot data center that developer B+F Timpanogos Tech proposed for a warehouse site; the developer can reapply, and the Provo Data Center record shows it blocked. In Spanish Fork, the council passed a code amendment on September 22, 2026, that could let Provo-based Volition convert a warehouse near Spanish Fork Canyon into a $3 billion data center isolated from the grid; it still needs a site plan and development agreement, and has no record here yet.
Data center projects on record in Utah County
Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.
Eagle Mountain4
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meta Eagle MountainEagle Mountain | Meta | 133 MW | ||
| QTS Eagle MountainEagle Mountain | QTS | Under construction | Not reported | |
| Tract Pole Canyon (Eagle Mountain)Eagle Mountain | Tract | Proposed | Not reported | |
| Tract Pony Express (Eagle Mountain)Eagle Mountain | Tract | Proposed | Not reported |
Bluffdale1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSA Utah Data CenterBluffdale | Federal Government | Not reported |
Provo1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provo Data CenterProvo | Not reported | Blocked | 5 MW | Source off site ↗ |
Santaquin1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Summit Ridge Data CenterSantaquin | Data Center Power Company | Approved | 20 MW |
Where this comes from
The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.
Zoning limits on data centers
Rules short of a pause: setbacks, noise caps, permit requirements and district limits.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProvoTown or city | Zoning limits | Mar 10, 2026 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.