Where communities won
Data centers that residents stopped.
Projects killed by a vote, pulled by their developer, or blocked in court, plus every town, county, and state that has pressed pause. Each entry links to the news story or record behind it.
Projects stopped
133 data center projects that residents stopped, by a vote, a withdrawal or a court. Sorted newest first within each state. 590 places also have a moratorium or ban in force; the moratorium tab on this page lists them.
United States111
Arizona5
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pinal County, south of EloyVermaland (La Osa) | Denied Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 against rezoning. | August 26, 2026 | 3,300 acres, 11 buildings after cutback | Not reported | kjzz.org |
| Laveen, PhoenixVintage Partners | Withdrawn Phoenix narrowed where data centers could go and city leadership discouraged the project; the developer switched the site to mixed use. | March 3, 2026 | 63 acres | Not reported | azbex.com |
| ChandlerActive Infrastructure | Denied City Council voted 7-0 against the rezoning, despite lobbying by former Sen. Kyrsten Sinema. | December 11, 2025 | 40 acres, 422,000 sq ft | $2.5B | eenews.net |
| TucsonAmazon Web Services | Denied The city council voted unanimously to stop the annexation after public outcry over water and energy, and Amazon later withdrew as end user. | August 6, 2025 | 290 acres | Not reported | tucsonspotlight.org |
| Buckeye area, Maricopa CountyTract (Project Range) | Withdrawn Tract withdrew all four applications after opposition from residents and nearby cities. | April 18, 2024 | about 1,000 acres, 5.6 million sq ft | $14B | datacenterdynamics.com |
California3
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Imperial CountySebastian Rucci | Blocked in court Court overturned the county approval and ordered a full environmental review. | September 9, 2026 | nearly 1 million sq ft | Not reported | kpbs.org |
| El SegundoEight Form | Withdrawn The developer withdrew on the spot at the planning commission after three hours of resident opposition. | July 9, 2026 | 50 MW, 230,780 sq ft | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Mount Shasta | Denied The city manager called it dead on arrival over the water rights attached to the site and told the company no the same afternoon. | June 22, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | ijpr.org |
Connecticut1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WaterfordNE Edge | Withdrawn After a three year campaign the host fee agreement between NE Edge-Waterford and the town ended in default and expired under its own terms. | April 15, 2026 | about 55 acres, 300 MW | Not reported | ctmirror.org |
Delaware1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delaware CityStarwood Digital Ventures | Denied State environmental agency ruled it illegal under the Coastal Zone Act on Feb 3, and the state appeals board upheld that unanimously on March 26. | March 26, 2026 | 580 acres, 6 million sq ft | Not reported | spotlightdelaware.org |
Florida4
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holder, Citrus CountyDeltona Corp. | Withdrawn Deltona withdrew its comprehensive plan amendment and rezoning applications after resident backlash, and the July hearings were cancelled. | June 23, 2026 | about 800 acres | Not reported | fox13news.com |
| Okeechobee CountyIndian River State College (Okee-One) | Withdrawn County Commission dropped the land-use change that would have allowed it, the college cancelled, and the state pulled its grant after 3,000+ residents signed a petition. | April 23, 2026 | 205 acres, 9-10 MW | Not reported | wgcu.org |
| IndiantownSilver Fox 606 LLC | Withdrawn Developer withdrew the proposal after opposition over wetlands and protected species. | April 2026 | 606 acres, 2 million sq ft | Not reported | wflx.com |
| St. Lucie County, Minute Maid RdTimberline Real Estate Partners (land owner Epic Estates 68) | Withdrawn Planning and zoning voted 4-2 against it, then the developer withdrew amid resident opposition and a new state data center law. | February 26, 2026 | 1,218 acres, 1 GW, up to 15 million sq ft | $13.5B | wptv.com |
Georgia6
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lovejoy (Stillwater Technology Park)Stillwater Development | Withdrawn The developer withdrew after intense pushback over water use and nearby schools, and plans homes instead. | August 2026 | 400 acres, 15 buildings, 1.25 GW | $13B | baxtel.com |
| Douglas CountyEdgeConneX | Denied County Commission voted 4-1 to deny, the second denial on this site in 7 months. | July 7, 2026 | 700 acres, 4.4 million sq ft | Not reported | douglascountysentinel.com |
| FayettevilleCrow Holdings Development | Withdrawn After the planning commission rejected it, the developer dropped its appeal to the city council. | March 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | baxtel.com |
| Jones CountyEagleRock Partners (Crooked Creek Technology Park) | Withdrawn Developers withdrew the rezoning less than a day before the hearing after residents organized, and the county passed a 90-day moratorium. | October 2025 | 634 acres, 1.8 million sq ft | $5B | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Bolingbroke, Monroe CountyBolingbroke Technology Center | Denied County commissioners voted unanimously against the rezoning after the planning board also said no. Landowners have sued. | August 5, 2025 | 970 acres, 9 buildings, 5.4 million sq ft, 1.2 GW | $5.8B | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Adairsville, Bartow CountyAtlas Development | Withdrawn Withdrawn after the county planning commission recommended denial. | May 1, 2025 | 588 acres, 6 buildings, 432 MW | $4.5B | ajc.com |
Idaho1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PocatelloLex Developments LLC | Denied Hearing examiner denied the permit in May, and City Council upheld the denial 4-1 on July 16. | July 16, 2026 | 49 acres | $2.6B | datacenterdynamics.com |
Illinois5
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hoffman EstatesKaris Critical | Withdrawn Plan commission voted 4-2 against; developer withdrew the rezoning. | July 1, 2026 | 186 acres | Not reported | capitolnewsillinois.com |
| PekinWestern Hospitality Partners | Withdrawn The mayor ended the city land deal in March after heavy opposition, and the developer formally withdrew May 5. | May 5, 2026 | 321 acres | Not reported | wvik.org |
| Rochelle | Denied City Council voted 7-0 against it. | April 27, 2026 | 48 MW first phase | Not reported | mystateline.com |
| Barrington HillsBrennan Investment Group | Withdrawn Brennan pulled out before its first public presentation after a resident petition, and the village called the matter closed. | January 27, 2026 | about 110 acres | $2B | datacenterdynamics.com |
| NapervilleKaris Critical | Denied City Council voted 6-1 against it after 5,000+ residents signed a petition. | January 20, 2026 | 24 MW, 145,000 sq ft, 40 acres | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
Indiana4
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Franklin Township, IndianapolisGoogle (Deep Meadows LLC), Project Flo | Withdrawn Google pulled its rezoning minutes before the City-County Council was expected to vote it down. | September 22, 2025 | 468 acres, 4 buildings | $1B | wfyi.org |
| McCordsville, Hancock CountySurge Development | Withdrawn Surge withdrew the rezoning for more than 700 acres a week before the vote, after opposition over farmland and the orchard next door. | May 13, 2025 | more than 700 acres | Not reported | wthr.com |
| Leesburg, Kosciusko CountyPrologis | Denied County commissioners voted 3-0 against the rezoning after a 1,000+ signature petition, and Prologis said it would not look elsewhere in the county. | April 22, 2025 | 554 acres | $10B | insideindianabusiness.com |
| ChestertonProvident Realty Advisors | Withdrawn Developer withdrew after residents organized and the Town Council said it could never support the project. | June 10, 2024 | 200 acres, 8 buildings | $1.3B | insideindianabusiness.com |
Kansas1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spring HillColossus Data Center Advisors | Withdrawn The developer pulled out before the planning commission meeting after two weeks of opposition from about forty neighbours and the threat of a lawsuit. | March 24, 2026 | 316 acres | Not reported | kshb.com |
Kentucky2
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ekron, Meade County | Denied Planning commission and Fiscal Court both voted unanimously no after 150 people signed up to speak. | October 14, 2025 | 138 acres | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
| La Grange, Oldham CountyProject Lincoln | Withdrawn The developer withdrew after community opposition, and the county passed a 150-day moratorium. | 2025 | 267 acres | $6 billion | wdrb.com |
Maine1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LewistonMillCompute LLC | Denied City Council voted 7-0 against it after residents packed the chamber. | December 16, 2025 | 85,000 sq ft | $300M | mainepublic.org |
Maryland1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lusby, Calvert CountyAWS | Withdrawn AWS withdrew its site plan after voters ousted pro-data-center commissioners and the county moved toward a moratorium. | August 4, 2026 | 8 buildings, 2.4 million sq ft | Not reported | datacenterknowledge.com |
Michigan6
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Augusta TownshipThor Equities | Denied Voters overturned the rezoning by about 90% in a ballot referendum. | August 4, 2026 | 522 acres | $1B | wemu.org |
| Allen ParkSolstice Data | Denied Planning Commission voted 7-2 to deny the site plan, and the city then passed a moratorium. | June 2026 | 26 MW, 45,000 sq ft | Not reported | planetdetroit.org |
| Washington Township (Macomb County)Prologis | Withdrawn Prologis withdrew its rezoning after months of protests, and the township moved to a moratorium. Prologis says it may reapply once rules are written. | May 19, 2026 | 312 acres | Not reported | planetdetroit.org |
| LansingDeep Green | Withdrawn Deep Green withdrew its rezoning hours before the City Council vote, and the city later passed a moratorium. | April 6, 2026 | 24 MW plus a 16 MW fuel cell plant | Not reported | michiganadvance.com |
| Howell TownshipVan Gilder family land, reportedly for Meta | Withdrawn The rezoning was withdrawn the night before the board vote, after a 3,700-signature petition and a township moratorium. Officials say it may come back. | December 7, 2025 | about 1,000 acres | $1B | cbsnews.com |
| Kalkaska CountyRocklocker LLC | Withdrawn The developer withdrew after fierce opposition from residents. | November 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
Minnesota4
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MinneapolisLegacy Investing | Withdrawn Developer withdrew its land use application after neighborhood opposition. | September 11, 2026 | 20 MW | Not reported | mprnews.org |
| Elk RiverSwervo Development / Elk River Capital | Withdrawn City Council unanimously rejected the zoning change, then the developer withdrew. | July 6, 2026 | 33 MW, 60,000 sq ft | Not reported | mprnews.org |
| Nobles CountyGeronimo Power | Denied County commissioners voted down the zoning change the project needed on farmland. | April 21, 2026 | 959 acres, 2.5 million sq ft, 400 to 450 MW | $4B | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Apple ValleyOppidan / Rockport LLC | Denied City Council unanimously denied the site plan and permits, after rejecting the land-use change it needed in January. | March 26, 2026 | 134 acres, 5 buildings, 1.05 million sq ft, 250 to 300 MW | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
Mississippi1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| StarkvilleStarkville Energy LLC | Denied The planning and zoning commission denied the exemption, finding the application lacked transparency and had not addressed residents’ concerns. | August 11, 2026 | 30 MW | Not reported | reflector-online.com |
Missouri3
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kansas CityRevitalization Unlimited | Denied The city plan commission voted 6-0 to reject it after 475 letters, none of them in favour, and 55 people testified. | August 5, 2026 | 20 storeys, 384 feet | Not reported | kcur.org |
| St. JosephCapstone Technology Campus | Withdrawn The landowner withdrew the annexation and rezoning applications himself, a month before the hearing. | June 26, 2026 | 400 acres | Not reported | kq2.com |
| Peculiar, Cass CountyDiode Ventures (Harper Road Technology Park) | Denied Board of Aldermen removed data centers from the zoning code after residents packed meetings, blocking the project. | October 2024 | 508 acres, 7 buildings | $1.5B | datacenterdynamics.com |
Montana1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bonner, Missoula CountyKrambu | Withdrawn The landowner pulled his signature from the application after months of resident opposition, and the county said the project will not move forward. | July 6, 2026 | 7 MW to start, up to 100 MW | Not reported | montanafreepress.org |
Nevada1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boulder City, Eldorado ValleyTownsite Solar 2 LLC | Blocked in court The developer withdrew from the city site after pushback, then won federal approval on nearby federal land. The Interior Department appeals board halted it on Sept 1 after the city and environmental groups appealed. | September 1, 2026 | 80 acres, 167 MW data center plus 70 MW battery | Not reported | 8newsnow.com |
New Hampshire1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NottinghamTom Moulton (Nottingham Business Park LLC) | Withdrawn Developer withdrew hours before a packed planning board meeting after a 29,000-signature petition. Voters then passed a one-year moratorium. | May 27, 2026 | 40 acres | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
New Jersey4
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| East Greenwich Township (Mount Royal)American Tower | Withdrawn American Tower withdrew after a 5,800-signature petition, and the township then banned future data centers. | June 22, 2026 | 4 MW, about 16,000 sq ft, 6.2 acres | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Andover Township (former Newton Airport)National Land Developers LLC | Denied After weeks of protests the township unanimously banned data centers. The developer is now suing to overturn the ban. | June 2026 | about 97 acres | Not reported | govtech.com |
| Monroe TownshipHexa Builders | Denied Township officials rejected the proposal. The developer is now suing the township for $300 million. | May 2026 | 1 million sq ft | Not reported | courierpostonline.com |
| New Brunswick | Denied City Council voted unanimously to remove data centers from the redevelopment plan and build a park instead. | February 18, 2026 | 27,000 sq ft | Not reported | jerseyvindicator.org |
New Mexico1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SocorroGreen Data, with New Mexico Tech | Withdrawn New Mexico Tech dropped the project after months of protests, and the county then passed a one-year moratorium. | June 2, 2026 | 10,000 acres, 2 GW | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
North Carolina6
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Garner, RaleighBeacon Partners | Withdrawn Beacon Partners withdrew the proposal, as the mayor of Raleigh confirmed. | August 15, 2026 | 13 acres | Not reported | wral.com |
| Rural Hall, Forsyth CountyDrox Group | Denied County commissioners voted 5-2 against rezoning, after the planning board also said no in June. | July 30, 2026 | 129 acres, 1.3 million sq ft | Not reported | wfae.org |
| Kingsboro, Edgecombe CountyEnergy Storage Solutions | Withdrawn Developer withdrew after a special-use permit denial and county moratorium debate. | July 6, 2026 | 1,700 acres, 300 MW | $19.2B | bisnow.com |
| Apex (New Hill)Natelli Investments (New Hill Digital Campus) | Withdrawn Natelli withdrew its annexation and rezoning after a 5,000-signature petition, and Apex moved to pause data centers. | March 5, 2026 | 250 MW, 189 acres, 6 buildings | Not reported | indyweek.com |
| MatthewsCrossland | Withdrawn The developers withdrew the rezoning after a petition gathered more than 2,700 signatures; the commissioners accepted the withdrawal and the land keeps its residential zoning. | October 8, 2025 | 123 acres, 5 buildings | Not reported | wunc.org |
| MooresvilleTract (Mooresville Technology Park) | Withdrawn Tract fully withdrew its rezoning after 200+ residents and Dale Earnhardt's son Kerry spoke out, weeks before the vote. | August 13, 2025 | 400 acres, 1.5 million sq ft | $30B | datacenterdynamics.com |
Ohio5
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PataskalaAligned Data Centers | Denied City Council unanimously upheld the planning commission's 5-2 denial. | August 25, 2026 | 200 MW | $5B+ (company figure) | nbc4i.com |
| AmherstCervenka Development Partners | Denied Board of Zoning Appeals rejected the variance the day after a hearing that drew 100+ residents. | July 30, 2026 | 45 MW, 240,000 sq ft, 36.6 acres | Not reported | news5cleveland.com |
| ClevelandLakeland Equity Group | Denied City rejected the permit after it failed zoning review, and council then moved to pause new data centers. | May 14, 2026 | 35 acres, 300,000 sq ft, 150 MW | $1.6B | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Preble CountyPRSM Land Development Group | Withdrawn Landowners withdrew the rezoning two days before the commissioners vote, after an overflow public hearing. The developer says it may try again. | September 29, 2025 | about 300 acres | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
| NortonQuantum HPC (Project Triton) | Withdrawn The project was cancelled after strong opposition from residents at public meetings. | 2025 | 90 acres, 485,000 sq ft plus a gas turbine power yard | $2B | baxtel.com |
Oklahoma1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CowetaBeale Infrastructure (Project Atlas) | Withdrawn Beale pulled its rezoning after the planning commission recommended denial and residents organized against it. | March 30, 2026 | 270 acres | Not reported | kosu.org |
Oregon3
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SalemVerrus | Withdrawn Governor ordered the state land sale withdrawn. | July 30, 2026 | 32-75 acres | $5B | katu.com |
| La PineBoxminer (bitcoin mining) | Denied City Council voted unanimously against selling the land after hours of public opposition. | May 27, 2026 | 20 MW, 19.5 acres | Not reported | opb.org |
| Cascade Locks | Withdrawn The port and developer ended the data center deal after community opposition. | July 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | portofcascadelocks.gov |
Pennsylvania8
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upper Merion Township (King of Prussia)MLP Ventures (Brian O'Neill) | Denied Board of Supervisors unanimously denied all five sites. The developer is suing. | August 13, 2026 | 4.6 million sq ft | Not reported | 6abc.com |
| East Vincent TownshipPennhurst Holdings LLC | Denied Board of Supervisors unanimously denied the conditional use, developer says it will appeal in court. | May 21, 2026 | 1.9 million sq ft, 125 acres | Not reported | chestnuthilllocal.com |
| South Annville TownshipInch & Co. / Eastern Land & Resources | Withdrawn The developer withdrew its rezoning after the planning commission voted against it and residents organized protests. | May 12, 2026 | 99 acres, 5 buildings, about 640,000 sq ft | $1.7B | lebtown.com |
| Columbia BoroughSaadia Holding LLC | Denied Borough council rejected the land bid for a data center. | May 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | lancasteronline.com |
| Montour CountyTalen Energy | Denied County commissioners voted 3-0 to deny the rezoning. | February 10, 2026 | 800+ acres | Not reported | insideclimatenews.org |
| Plymouth TownshipO'Neill Properties | Withdrawn The township planning board unanimously refused to recommend it in October, and the applicant withdrew at the zoning hearing board the following month. | November 18, 2025 | 66 acres | Not reported | inquirer.com |
| Hazle Township, Luzerne CountyNorthPoint Development (Project Hazelnut), reportedly for AWS | Denied Supervisors voted 3-0 to deny the land plans after 200+ residents packed the meeting, and a judge threw out NorthPoint's appeal in May 2026. | November 14, 2025 | about 1,282 acres, 15 buildings | Not reported | foodandwaterwatch.org |
| Blakely, Lackawanna County | Withdrawn The developer withdrew its plans after large crowds turned out against it. | September 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | datacenterwatch.substack.com |
Pennyslvania1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upper MacungieAir Products and Chemicals | Denied Zoning Hearing Board denied it in May, and Air Products let the appeal deadline pass, ending the project. | August 5, 2026 | 194 acres, 3 buildings, 2.6 million sq ft | Not reported | lehighvalleypublicmedia.org |
South Carolina4
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spartanburg CountyLighthouse Data Centers / Jones Road Associates | Denied County staff denied it in June, and the Board of Zoning Appeals unanimously upheld the denial on Aug 25. | August 25, 2026 | 60 MW, 200,000 sq ft | Not reported | wspa.com |
| Marion CountyStream Data Centers (Project Liberty) | Withdrawn Stream cancelled it, citing delays getting power, after months of resident protests over the council approving it in secret. | June 11, 2026 | about 407 acres, 3 buildings, 2 million sq ft | $2.4B | wistv.com |
| Spartanburg County (Tyger River Industrial Park)TigerDC (Project Spero) | Withdrawn TigerDC pulled out hours before the county council voted down its tax break after weeks of public opposition. | February 27, 2026 | 100 MW first phase | $3B | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Camden, Kershaw CountyTerra Nexus Ventures | Withdrawn The company’s lawyer filed a one sentence withdrawal before the county council could vote, after the planning commission had already approved it. | September 15, 2025 | 162 acres | Not reported | postandcourier.com |
Texas7
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BrownsvilleRandr Ventures | Withdrawn The applicant withdrew the day before the city met to consider a 90 day moratorium on new data centers. | August 5, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Henderson County (Cedar Creek Lake)Diode Ventures | Withdrawn Diode pulled out after residents fought its plan to draw lake water, and Gov. Abbott said it failed the state's new standards. | July 23, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | keranews.org |
| TylerVulcan Core LLC | Denied The planning and zoning commission refused the special use permit 5-2 after 26 residents spoke against it and the meeting ran three and a half hours. | July 7, 2026 | 1.8 acres, 12 MW | Not reported | tylerpaper.com |
| KilleenOnmine | Withdrawn Planning and Zoning recommended denial 4-1 on April 27, then the applicant withdrew before the June 2 council vote. | May 2026 | 2.6 acres | $30M | kdhnews.com |
| HuttoZydeco Development | Withdrawn Zydeco withdrew its rezoning after city staff recommended denial and neighbors filed formal protests. | April 17, 2026 | 70 MW, 40 acres | Not reported | kut.org |
| San MarcosHighlander SM One LLC | Denied City Council voted 5-2 to deny the rezoning; the city later banned data centers in every zone (June 16). | March 2026 | 200 acres | $1.5B | kxan.com |
| College StationPriority Power (Project Aggie) | Denied City Council voted unanimously against selling the land after a 5,000-signature petition and nearly 80 speakers. | September 11, 2025 | 200 acres, up to 600 MW | Not reported | kbtx.com |
Utah1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProvoB+F Timpanogos Tech Center | Denied City Council voted 7-0 against the rezoning, then capped data centers at 50 MW citywide. | March 10, 2026 | 66,000 sq ft, 5 MW (up to 50 MW) | Not reported | heraldextra.com |
Virginia12
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FredericksburgPenzance | Denied The city council voted the project down twice over in the early hours of the morning. | August 26, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | fredericksburgfreepress.com |
| Rocky Mount, Franklin CountyCrusoe | Withdrawn The data center proposed for Summit View Business Park will not be built. | August 17, 2026 | 150 acres, 100 MW | Not reported | wdbj7.com |
| Prince William CountySanders Lane Assemblage I LLC | Denied Board of Supervisors voted 8-0 to deny after a five-hour hearing. | July 7, 2026 | about 1,940 acres, 43 million sq ft | Not reported | insidenova.com |
| Prince William CountyQTS / Compass | Withdrawn Courts voided the approvals (appeal court March 31); Compass withdrew April 29; QTS ended the project July 2. | July 2, 2026 | about 2,100 acres, 27 million sq ft | about $25B | virginiamercury.com |
| Hanover CountyTract | Denied by a vote Board of Supervisors voted 4-3 to deny, even after planners recommended approval. | May 27, 2026 | about 430 acres, 900 MW | Not reported | richmondbizsense.com |
| Ashland, Hanover CountyLS Power | Withdrawn LS Power pulled its zoning request in a letter from its attorney to the county. | May 1, 2026 | 205 acres | Not reported | richmondbizsense.com |
| Hanover County, near WyndhamHHHunt | Withdrawn Planning Commission voted against it, then HHHunt withdrew. | January 28, 2026 | about 400 acres, 10 buildings | Not reported | vpm.org |
| Louisa CountyAmazon Web Services | Withdrawn AWS pulled its permit application after strong resident opposition. AWS later bought nearly 2,000 acres in the county, so it could return. | July 23, 2025 | 7.2 million sq ft | $1B | virginiamercury.com |
| Pittsylvania CountyBalico LLC | Denied Board of Supervisors voted 6-1 against the rezoning for a data center campus and a 3,500 MW gas plant, after refusing Balico's third request to delay. | April 15, 2025 | 750 acres, 3,500 MW gas plant | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Charles City CountyDiode Ventures (Roxbury Technology Park) | Withdrawn Diode dropped the plan after supervisors delayed their vote in the face of local opposition. | 2025 | 515 acres | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Catlett, Fauquier CountyHeadwaters Site Development | Withdrawn Developer withdrew its rezoning days before the planning commission hearing amid resident opposition. | July 15, 2024 | 67 acres, up to 1.4 million sq ft | Not reported | fauquiernow.com |
| Ruther Glen, Caroline CountyVALCO | Denied The board of supervisors voted 5-1 to refuse the comprehensive plan amendment the campus needed, and VALCO withdrew the rezoning. | June 18, 2024 | 855 acres | Not reported | fredericksburgfreepress.com |
Wisconsin6
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MilwaukeeTrent Overhue | Withdrawn The developer dropped the computing facility from the redevelopment after a plan commission hearing that ran more than six hours. | July 6, 2026 | about 19,000 sq ft | Not reported | urbanmilwaukee.com |
| Cassville, Grant County | Denied The town rejected the zoning change the project needed and the deal fell apart; the developers had never given their names. | April 1, 2026 | 500 acres, 400 MW | $2B | wisconsinwatch.org |
| DeForest, Dane CountyQTS Data Centers | Withdrawn The village declared the project not feasible and QTS pulled out after months of resident opposition. | February 3, 2026 | 650 acres, 5 buildings | $12B | wpr.org |
| Greenleaf, Brown CountyCloverleaf Infrastructure | Withdrawn Cloverleaf dropped its offer to buy land for a data center after an outcry from residents. | January 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | wisconsinwatch.org |
| Carlton, Kewaunee CountyCloverleaf Infrastructure | Withdrawn Cloverleaf gave up on buying the land after the town made plain that it did not want a data center. | December 1, 2025 | 800 acres, 100 MW | Not reported | pbswisconsin.org |
| CaledoniaMicrosoft (Project Nova) | Withdrawn Microsoft dropped the site after a 2,000-signature petition, days before the village board vote. | October 8, 2025 | 244 acres, 3 buildings | Not reported | datacenterdynamics.com |
Australia2
New South Wales1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Katoomba, Blue MountainsMAK Urban Group | Withdrawn Developer withdrew its application after resident petitions and council opposition (next to homes, a school and a creek). | June 25, 2026 | 3,118 sqm, 1-2 MW | A$4.8M | datacenterdynamics.com |
Western Australia1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hazelmere, City of SwanGreenSquareDC | Withdrawn Developer withdrew its application after local opposition. | May 2026 | 120 MW | A$1.1B | echonewspaper.com.au |
Canada3
Alberta2
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OldsSynapse Real Estate Corp | Withdrawn Alberta Utilities Commission rejected the gas power plant the campus depended on, calling the site unsuitable. | August 17, 2026 | 1.4 GW | about $10B | cbc.ca |
| Rocky View County (near Balzac)Kineticor | Denied County council voted 6-1 against the plan the campus needed, citing its impact on local farmers. | September 9, 2025 | 1,107 acres | Not reported | content.goldenwestapps.com |
Ontario1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Armour TownshipAlmaguin Data Inc. | Withdrawn Developer dropped the project after a petition of 1,000+ residents and required impact studies. | June 1, 2026 | 2 MW (up to 10 MW), 6.8 acres | Not reported | muskokaradio.com |
Chile1
Santiago Metropolitan1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CerrillosGoogle | Blocked in court Environmental court ruled against it over water use; Google dropped the original design. | September 17, 2024 | 23 ha | $200M | elciudadano.com |
France2
Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AlixanSesterce | Blocked in court Administrative court suspended the project. | July 10, 2026 | 40 MW | €1.5B | grenoble.tribunal-administratif.fr |
Ile-de-France1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Le BourgetSegro | Blocked in court Project blocked; court refused to revive it. | July 28, 2026 | 25,000 sqm | Not reported | actu.fr |
Germany3
Hesse2
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BabenhausenSTACK Infrastructure | Withdrawn STACK pulled out after the city council coalition demanded renewable power, noise caps, a water plan and a €250M guarantee, citing a long, uncertain approval process. | July 2026 | 270,000 sqm | €3B | datacenterdynamics.com |
| Gross-GerauVantage Data Centers | Denied Town refused permission. | February 3, 2026 | 174 MW | €2.5B | datacenterdynamics.com |
Thuringia1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eisenach | Denied City council voted to stop it. | July 1, 2026 | 80 hectares | Not reported | mdr.de |
Ireland4
Dublin2
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ClondalkinVantage Data Centres | Denied National planning appeals board refused permission. | April 4, 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | pleanala.ie |
| Profile Park, ClondalkinDigital Netherlands VIII B.V. | Denied National planning appeals board refused permission for two data centers. | February 14, 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | pleanala.ie |
Galway1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AthenryApple | Withdrawn Apple dropped the project after years of legal challenges brought by local residents. | May 10, 2018 | about 500 acres | €850M | irishtimes.com |
Mayo1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KillalaMayo Data Hub Ltd (Avaio Digital) | Denied National planning appeals board refused permission, citing climate policy. | September 17, 2026 | 50 MW | €1.5B | pleanala.ie |
Italy1
Lombardy1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TravagliatoEast Gate / Edge Gate | Withdrawn Developer withdrew its plans. | September 2026 | 120 MW | Not reported | idcnova.com |
Malaysia1
Selangor1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kota Damansara | Withdrawn Proposal withdrawn after residents objected. | July 28, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | mediaselangor.com |
Netherlands2
Flevoland1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZeewoldeMeta | Withdrawn Meta abandoned Europe's largest planned campus after the town voted its backers out and the national government refused to sell the land. The Council of State then struck down the zoning in 2023. | July 1, 2022 | 166 hectares (410 acres), 200 MW | Not reported | nltimes.nl |
North Holland1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HaarlemmermeerGoodman | Blocked in court Court blocked the data center. | April 29, 2026 | 70 MVA | Not reported | article19.org |
United Kingdom3
England1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iver, BuckinghamshireGreystoke | Blocked in court UK government admitted in court that its approval was unlawful after a legal challenge. | January 22, 2026 | 90 MW | £1bn | foxglove.org.uk |
Scotland1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EdinburghShelborn Drummond Ltd | Denied Council refused the plan unanimously. | February 9, 2026 | 210 MW | Not reported | datacentrereview.com |
Wales1
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | Investment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amlwch, AngleseyCarbon3.ai Ltd | Denied Planning application refused over harm to residents and the environment. | April 20, 2026 | 61 acres | Not reported | nation.cymru |