Global Data Centers.formerly Florida Data Centers

Home/United States/Virginia/Hopewell

Data centers by place

Data centers in Hopewell, Virginia: 1 project mapped

1 project tracked
·
1 with no stage on record
·
20 MW reported
Hopewell Data Center (Not reported, 20 MW)
Imagery: Esri, Maxar
Tracked projectBigger dot, more power1 site shown

Hopewell's only data center prospect is the former Green Plains ethanol plant at 701 South Sixth Avenue, closed since 2018. NS Development Partners bought the 55-acre site in early 2026 and leased about seven acres to an unnamed manufacturer. In July, Volterra Advisors, a Maryland consulting firm, told The Progress-Index it had worked with the property owners on an analysis that found part of the site suited to a small data center of about 50,000 to 70,000 square feet running on about 20 megawatts. For comparison, the paper noted that Google's three data centers under construction in nearby Chesterfield County will draw 200 to 300 megawatts. "There's potential to re-use the natural gas lines," Volterra founder Jeramy Utara said. He blamed excess noise at data centers "on a few bad actors" in the industry and said nothing like that would happen in Hopewell.

The first report said Volterra's case study had been done with the city, and Hopewell disputed that. In a July 13 statement, city spokesperson Kyle English said the city "did not commission, participate in, or conduct any case study regarding the development of the property." He said the city had received formal inquiries in March 2025 and May 2026 about whether a data center was an allowable use at the site, and that no proposal is considered until an application is filed. The Progress-Index reported that the case study had been taken down from Volterra's website. No application has been reported.

Data center projects on record in Hopewell

Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.

Hopewell1
ProjectCompanyStatusPower
Hopewell Data CenterHopewell Not reported Not reported 20 MW Source off site ↗

Where this comes from

The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.

Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.