Home/United States/Indiana/Lake County
Data centers in Lake County, Indiana: 7 projects mapped
Lake County's biggest data center projects are Amazon's campus in Hobart, near 61st Avenue and Colorado Street, and Sentinel Data Centers' Project Shirley in Eagle Creek Township between Lowell and Hebron. The Hobart City Council approved Amazon's $11 billion plan in January 2026, and Amazon has paid the city $47 million. The Lake County Council voted 6-0 to rezone Sentinel's 162-acre site on State Road 2, east of Clay Street; Sentinel still needs a special exception and site plan approval under the county's data center rules.
Amazon says the Hobart campus will bring more than 400 permanent jobs, but there is still no site plan; the mayor has said there could be up to 25 buildings. Residents led by Angelita Soriano have sued the city over the rezonings and tax break, and in February 2026 asked a Lake County judge to block a fill permit that lets Amazon dig and test the soil. A hearing was set for that month; no ruling has been published. "We want transparency before approvals happen not after," Soriano said.
Read more
Project Shirley is a $5 billion, four-building campus that would use about 500 megawatts of power, with about 250 permanent jobs. The county Plan Commission sent it to the council with no recommendation after a 4-4 tie. Hebron resident Dylan Ricard, who lives less than a mile away, says he has had trouble with water from his well in recent years.
Merrillville has paused new data center approvals from June 1, 2026, to May 31, 2027, after four developers approached the town, including Karis Critical, whose nine-building campus on 101st Avenue won zoning approval in 2024, Province Group and Wylie Capital. Council President Rick Bella said the town wants to watch Hobart's campus being built first.
Data center projects on record in Lake County
Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.
Merrillville3
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Province Group Data CenterMerrillville | PowerHouse | Proposed | 400 MW | |
| Karis Critical Data CenterMerrillville | Karis Critical | Proposed | Not reported | |
| Wylie Capital Data CenterMerrillville | Wylie Capital | Proposed | Not reported |
Hobart2
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerHouse Hobart (Indiana)Hobart | PowerHouse Data Centers | Proposed | 450 MW | |
| AWS Hobart IndianaHobart | Amazon Web Services | Proposed | Not reported |
Hammond1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CoreWeave HammondHammond | Digital Crossroads | Suspended | 180 MW |
Hebron1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sentinel Data Center: Project ShirleyHebron | Sentinel | Approved | 500 MW |
Where this comes from
The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.
Moratoriums and bans in effect
Pauses on new data centers covering this area.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MerrillvilleTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 1, 2026 | Jan 1, 2028 | Record off site ↗ |
Zoning limits on data centers
Rules short of a pause: setbacks, noise caps, permit requirements and district limits.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lake County | Zoning limits | Aug 12, 2025 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.