Global Data Centers.formerly Florida Data Centers

Home/United States/Oregon

Data centers by place

Data centers in Oregon: 24 projects mapped

24 projects tracked
·
10 proposed or being built
·
11 operating
·
2 stopped or paused
·
1 with no stage on record
·
2,338 MW from the 11 active projects that report a figure
·
2 moratoriums and bans in effect
AWS Threemile Exascale (Proposed, 1,000 MW)Google The Dalles (Operating, 154 MW)QTS Hillsboro 2 (Operating, 180 MW)Aligned Hillsboro Campus (PDX-01/02) (Not reported, 108 MW)Percheron Data Center (Proposed, 300 MW)Sabey Umatilla (Under construction, 150 MW)QTS Hillsboro 3 (Proposed, 100 MW)NTT Hillsboro Campus (HI1-HI5) (Operating, 126 MW)Roundhouse Data Center (Cancelled, 10 MW)Crane PDX01 (Under construction, 100 MW)La Pine Data Center (Cancelled, 20 MW)STACK Hillsboro (POR01) (Operating, 80 MW)AWS Boardman Gar Swanson (Operating, 40 MW)Meta Prineville (Operating)AWS Hermiston (Under construction)AWS Boardman Olson Road (Operating)AWS Boardman Bombing Range (Under construction)AWS Boardman Tower Road East (Under construction)AWS Arlington Oregon (Proposed)Apple Prineville (Operating)Digital Realty PDX10 (Hillsboro) (Operating)T5 Portland (Hillsboro) (Operating)CoreWeave Hillsboro (Flexential) (Operating)Verrus Data Center (Proposed)
Imagery: Esri, Maxar
Tracked projectStopped or pausedBigger dot, more power24 sites shown

Oregon's data centers are concentrated in two places: Hillsboro, west of Portland, and Morrow and Umatilla counties around Boardman and Hermiston, where Amazon runs or is building most of them. Amazon bought more than 1,000 acres near Boardman this year for what it calls its Exascale Project, which a local organizer says would use a gigawatt of electricity. Hillsboro has a 120-day moratorium on new data center approvals, passed unanimously in July and set to end November 23.

In Morrow County the fight is over drinking water. In March Amazon agreed to pay $20.5 million, without admitting fault, to settle a lawsuit by residents whose wells are contaminated with nitrate; the Port of Morrow spreads wastewater from food processors and data centers on farm fields. The Oregon Health Authority has found at least 634 wells in the area with unsafe nitrate levels. The residents are still suing the port and other defendants and are seeking class-action status.

Read more

In Washington County, candidates who campaigned against data centers won Democratic primaries in May, and teachers and conservation groups are suing the county and Hillsboro over a string of data center tax breaks. In Salem, Gov. Tina Kotek canceled a state land sale to Verrus in July, though its 75-acre campus is still under city review. At The Dalles, where Google runs data centers, OPB found Google's water use grew from 104 million gallons in 2012 to 434 million in 2024.

Since July, Portland General Electric's data center customers pay 29% more under a 2025 state law, while household rates fell 1.3%. Four Democratic lawmakers plan to propose a three-year moratorium on new large data centers when the Legislature meets in January.

9 counties with tracked projects

Only places with at least one project have a page.

Where this comes from

The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.

Where people here have won

Projects stopped by a vote, pulled by their developer, or blocked in court.

PlaceWhat happenedDateSize
SalemVerrus Withdrawn by the developer Governor ordered the state land sale withdrawn. Jul 30, 2026 32-75 acres Story off site ↗
La PineBoxminer (bitcoin mining) Denied by a vote City Council voted unanimously against selling the land after hours of public opposition. May 27, 2026 20 MW, 19.5 acres
Cascade Locks Withdrawn by the developer The port and developer ended the data center deal after community opposition. Jul 2023 Not reported

Moratoriums and bans in effect

Places in Oregon that have paused or banned new data centers.

PlaceTypeStartedEnds
SalemTown or city Moratorium Sep 21, 2026 Jan 19, 2027 Record off site ↗
HillsboroTown or city Moratorium Jul 27, 2026 Nov 24, 2026 Record off site ↗

Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.