Global Data Centers.formerly Florida Data Centers

Home/United States/California

Data centers by place

Data centers in California: 55 projects mapped

55 projects tracked
·
18 proposed or being built
·
23 operating
·
9 stopped or paused
·
5 with no stage on record
·
1,551 MW from the 25 active projects that report a figure
·
4 moratoriums and bans in effect
STACK SVY02A (Suspended, 48 MW)STACK San Jose (SVY01) (Operating, 100 MW)Guadalupe Quarry Redevelopment Project Data Center (Withdrawn)Global Stack Data Center (Cancelled, 10 MW)Coachella Valley Technology Campus (Cancelled, 600 MW)Project North Bay Solutions Data Center (Proposed, 150 MW)Imperial Data Center (Blocked, 330 MW)Monterey Park Data Center (Withdrawn)Crystal Geyser location Data Center (Cancelled)Golden Valley Technology Hub (Proposed, 275 MW)Global Stack Data Center (Solano County Fairgrounds) (Suspended, 10 MW)Global Stack Data Center (Cancelled, 10 MW)Microsoft Alviso-Milpitas (Under construction, 99 MW)Vantage Santa Clara I (Operating, 77 MW)Vantage Santa Clara II (Operating, 75 MW)Vantage Santa Clara III (Proposed, 64 MW)EdgeCore Santa Clara (Operating, 72 MW)STACK Hayward (SVY03) (Approved, 76.6 MW)EdgeCore Silicon Valley Campus (SV01/SV02) (Operating, 72 MW)NTT Sacramento Campus (CA1-CA3) (Operating, 52.7 MW)Inyokern Data Center (Proposed, 99 MW)AVAIO Perseus Data Center (Approved, 99 MW)CloudHQ Santa Clara (SJC Campus) (Proposed, 42 MW)Digital Realty Vernon (Los Angeles) (Proposed, 32 MW)T5 Silicon Valley (Newark) (Operating, 49.1 MW)NTT Silicon Valley (SV1) (Operating, 16 MW)Prime Sacramento (SMF01 McClellan Park) (Operating, 26 MW)Novva San Francisco (400 Paul) (Operating, expanding, 9 MW)Global Stack Data Center (Proposed, 10 MW)Buena Vista Biomass Power site Data Center (Proposed, 16 MW)Former Oakland Scientific Facility (Proposed, 20 MW)EdgeConneX Edge Data Center (Operating, 3 MW)Nautilus Data Technology (Operating, 6.5 MW)Global Stack Data Center (Proposed, 10 MW)CoreWeave Santa Clara (Not reported)Centersquare 2401 Walsh (Santa Clara) (Operating)Digital Realty 2045 Lafayette (Santa Clara) (Operating)AWS Gilroy (Under construction)AWS Santa Clara Mission College (Under construction)QTS Santa Clara (Operating)Digital Realty San Francisco (200 Paul / 365 Main) (Operating)Equinix Silicon Valley Campus (San Jose SV1-SV10, SV14-SV17) (Operating)Equinix Santa Clara Campus (SV2/SV3/SV8) (Operating)Equinix Los Angeles Downtown Hub (LA1) (Operating)Equinix Los Angeles El Segundo Campus (LA2/LA3/LA4) (Operating)T5 Los Angeles (El Segundo) (Operating)Prime Los Angeles (Vernon) (Operating)Prime Santa Clara (SJC02/03 Comstock) (Not reported)Lambda Mountain View (ECL MV1) (Operating)China Mobile International San Jose (Not reported)China Telecom Americas Santa Clara (CoreSite SV7) (Not reported)China Telecom Americas Los Angeles (One Wilshire, CoreSite) (Not reported)Edwards AFB Data Center (Proposed)Global Stack Data Center (Proposed)NorthPoint Data Center (Proposed)
Imagery: Esri, Maxar
Tracked projectStopped or pausedBigger dot, more power55 sites shown

California has 16 data center projects proposed or under construction, the most of them in Santa Clara County, but the sharpest local fights are in the Imperial and Coachella valleys. On September 9 an Imperial County judge overturned the county's approval of developer Sebastian Rucci's nearly 1-million-square-foot data center complex next to the Victoria Ranch neighborhood near the city of Imperial, and ordered a full environmental review. Rucci said he would seek a new trial and, failing that, appeal.

Imperial County supervisors paused all data center projects on county land in June and later extended the pause through May 2027; the city of Imperial did the same. A county advisory committee is due to report on zoning rules in January. "We are disappointed but not deterred," Rucci told KPBS after the ruling.

Read more

In the Coachella Valley, Coachella became the first Riverside County city to ban data centers permanently, after residents fought Stronghold Power Systems' planned campus at Avenue 52 and Fillmore Street. Indio extended its moratorium through October 16 while it drafts a ban, Desert Hot Springs extended its pause to two years, and Palm Springs adopted a 45-day moratorium on August 26.

In Los Angeles County, Monterey Park voters approved a permanent ban on June 2, making it the first US city to ban data centers outright; the developer had already withdrawn. In Santa Clara, finished data centers built by Digital Realty and Stack have sat empty waiting for Silicon Valley Power to finish a $450 million grid upgrade due in 2028.

On September 21 Gov. Gavin Newsom signed seven bills that make data centers pay for the grid upgrades they cause and disclose expected water use to local governments. Indio's council was scheduled to take up its permanent ban in September; no result has been published, and its moratorium runs through October 16.

19 counties with tracked projects

Only places with at least one project have a page.

Where this comes from

The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.

Where people here have won

Projects stopped by a vote, pulled by their developer, or blocked in court.

PlaceWhat happenedDateSize
Imperial CountySebastian Rucci Blocked in court Court overturned the county approval and ordered a full environmental review. Sep 9, 2026 nearly 1 million sq ft Story off site ↗
El SegundoEight Form Withdrawn by the developer The developer withdrew on the spot at the planning commission after three hours of resident opposition. Jul 9, 2026 50 MW, 230,780 sq ft Story off site ↗
Mount Shasta Denied by a vote The city manager called it dead on arrival over the water rights attached to the site and told the company no the same afternoon. Jun 22, 2026 Not reported

Moratoriums and bans in effect

Places in California that have paused or banned new data centers.

PlaceTypeStartedEnds
CoachellaTown or city Ban Aug 26, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
Imperial County Moratorium Jun 16, 2026 May 2027 Record off site ↗
Monterey ParkTown or city Ban Jun 3, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
IndioTown or city Moratorium Not reported Oct 16, 2026 Record off site ↗

Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.