Home/United States/Indiana/Marion County
Data centers in Marion County, Indiana: 8 projects mapped
Marion County has stopped permitting new data centers until December 31, 2027. The Indianapolis City-County Council voted 23-1 on August 10, 2026 to approve the pause, and the Metropolitan Development Commission gave it final approval, 6-0, on August 19. Until then the county's zoning code did not define a data center; the council added one from the floor covering any facility built primarily to store, manage, process or transmit digital data, including AI training and cloud computing.
The pause is meant to produce permanent rules, not just delay. City staff are to convene a committee on campus size, building height, noise levels and environmental impact before the moratorium ends. It does not cover projects already approved: Sabey's 250-megawatt campus in Decatur Township, DC Blox's Thunderbird Commerce Center in Warren Township and Metrobloks' Brightwood project in Martindale-Brightwood are all exempt, so the residents who fought hardest against those three got a pause that does not touch them.
The county also has two smaller data centers already running, Lifeline Data Center and US Signal Data Center, both in Indianapolis. American Tower has suspended its 4-megawatt Edge Data Center project, and Google withdrew its Franklin Township proposal. Equinix lists a data hub in Indianapolis on its own materials, but the company's own current world map of its markets does not include Indianapolis, so its size and status here are unclear.
Data center projects on record in Marion County
Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.
Indianapolis8
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sabey Decatur Township (Indianapolis)Indianapolis | Sabey Data Centers | Approved | 250 MW | |
| Brightwood Data CenterIndianapolis | Metrobloks | Approved | 72 MW | |
| Thunderbird Commerce Center ProjectIndianapolis | DC Blox | Approved | 52 MW | |
| American Tower Edge Data Center (Indianapolis)Indianapolis | American Tower | Suspended | 4 MW | Source off site ↗ |
| US Signal Data CenterIndianapolis | US Signal | 2 MW | Source off site ↗ | |
| Equinix Indianapolis Hub (IP1)Indianapolis | Equinix | Not reported | Not reported | Source off site ↗ |
| Google Franklin TownshipIndianapolis | Withdrawn | Not reported | ||
| Lifeline Data CenterIndianapolis | Lifeline Data Centers | Not reported |
Where this comes from
The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.
Moratoriums and bans in effect
Pauses on new data centers covering this area.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IndianapolisTown or city | Moratorium | Aug 19, 2026 | Dec 31, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.