Global Data Centers.formerly Florida Data Centers

Home/United States/Kansas

Data centers by place

Data centers in Kansas: 10 projects mapped

10 projects tracked
·
8 proposed or being built
·
1 operating
·
1 stopped or paused
·
3,320 MW from the 5 active projects that report a figure
·
8 moratoriums and bans in effect
Flint Hills Digital Campus (Proposed, 1,000 MW)Project Bluestem (Proposed, early stage, 1,200 MW)Project Red Wolf (Proposed, 600 MW)Project Catalyst (Alcove Development) (Proposed, 500 MW)Colossus Data Center (Withdrawn)HyperDataGrid Data Center (Proposed, 20 MW)Digital Realty Astra North (De Soto) (Proposed)DataBank Kansas City metro (KC1-KC3) (Operating)Project Pilot (Beale Infrastructure, DeSoto, KS) (Under construction)DAMAC Data Center (Approved)
Imagery: Esri, Maxar
Tracked projectStopped or pausedBigger dot, more power10 sites shown

Kansas's first hyperscale data center campus, the very large kind built for big tech companies, is under construction in De Soto. Beale Infrastructure is building it in phases after the city council approved a development agreement in August 2025, and grading has started for the first two buildings. Digital Realty has proposed a second campus at De Soto's Astra Enterprise Park.

At least six more large campuses are proposed, most around Kansas City: Cloverleaf Infrastructure's Project Bluestem near Tonganoxie, Red Wolf's six-building campus in western Wyandotte County, Alcove Development's $1 billion, 283-acre plan in Osawatomie, the Flint Hills Digital Campus in west Emporia, a 10-building Compass Datacenters campus at 3303 S.W. 77th St. southwest of Topeka, and a possible Google project in Barber County near Sharon. Beale dropped a 300-acre project in Gardner after community scrutiny.

Read more

Many of the fights have moved to court. Edgerton, El Dorado and Emporia have sued residents over petitions to stop data centers; in Edgerton, the petition followed DAMAC Digital's plan to turn a building in the city's Logistics Park into a data center. Tonganoxie residents are raising money for a legal fight after Leavenworth County commissioners voted 3-2 on August 5 not to extend the county's 90-day moratorium. "And now the city commissions are suing their own citizens. Like, that's not American democracy," said Max Nelson, who opposes a proposed data center in Coffeyville.

Other places have hit pause. Saline County voted 4-0 for a three-year moratorium on data centers and nuclear and hydrogen plants in unincorporated areas, joining Sedgwick and Harvey counties, and Topeka passed a one-year moratorium on data center and battery storage development. Mike Morse of Kansas Commercial Real Estate Services estimated the Compass campus could pay $122 million a year in property taxes; Meghan Ryan of Protect Kansas said, "I do not believe the data exists to show what the true cost this would be on the community."

6 counties with tracked projects

Only places with at least one project have a page.

Where this comes from

The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.

Where people here have won

Projects stopped by a vote, pulled by their developer, or blocked in court.

PlaceWhat happenedDateSize
Spring HillColossus Data Center Advisors Withdrawn by the developer The developer pulled out before the planning commission meeting after two weeks of opposition from about forty neighbours and the threat of a lawsuit. Mar 24, 2026 316 acres

Moratoriums and bans in effect

Places in Kansas that have paused or banned new data centers.

PlaceTypeStartedEnds
South HutchinsonTown or city Moratorium Jul 26, 2026 Jul 26, 2027 Record off site ↗
LawrenceTown or city Moratorium Jul 14, 2026 Jul 14, 2028 Record off site ↗
Geary County Moratorium Jun 26, 2026 Jun 26, 2027 Record off site ↗
Saline County Moratorium Mar 18, 2026 Mar 18, 2029 Record off site ↗
Sedgwick County Moratorium Jan 15, 2026 Dec 24, 2026 Record off site ↗
Harvey County Moratorium Jan 13, 2026 Jan 13, 2029 Record off site ↗
Miami County Moratorium Not reported No end date Record off site ↗
TopekaTown or city Moratorium Not reported No end date Record off site ↗

Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.