Home/United States/North Carolina
Data centers in North Carolina: 34 projects mapped
North Carolina's biggest data center under construction is Amazon Web Services' $10 billion campus of 20 buildings in the Energy Way Industrial Park near Hamlet, in Richmond County, the largest single investment in the state's history. The sharpest fight is in Stokes County, where a Charlotte developer, Engineered Land Solutions, wants to build Project Delta on 1,845 acres of forest and farmland near Walnut Cove. Commissioners voided the project's rezoning in April, so the developer has to start the approval process over.
Three of five commissioners approved the rezoning in January. "We've been working for 20 years to try to find a revenue stream like this," Commissioner Rick Morris said then; residents sued, and in March Morris finished last of eight candidates in the Republican primary. The board then voided its vote, saying the lawsuit "correctly pointed out flaws that we needed to address." The developer promises 250 to 500 jobs and up to $40 million a year in county taxes, a figure one opponent called "outlandish."
Read more
At least 37 towns and counties have paused new data centers, among them Charlotte, Durham, Asheville, Apex, Chatham County, and, since August 17, Yadkin and Alamance counties. Residents have also driven developers away: Energy Storage Solutions withdrew a $19.2 billion project near Tarboro in Edgecombe County in July as the county weighed a moratorium, and a proposal in southeast Raleigh ended in August after residents filled all 30 comment slots at its hearing. Elsewhere, Microsoft is building two campuses in Catawba County.
State lawmakers have passed no data center rules. The House approved Senate Bill 730, which would make large data centers pay the cost of serving them, 69-44 in June, but the Senate parked it in its Rules Committee, and lawmakers are not expected to take meaningful votes until after the November 3 election, if at all this session.
21 counties with tracked projects
Only places with at least one project have a page.
- Mecklenburg County4
- Catawba County3
- Wake County3
- Cherokee County2
- Cumberland County2
- Durham County2
- Guilford County2
- Iredell County2
- Lee County2
- Buncombe County1
- Caldwell County1
- Cleveland County1
- Edgecombe County1
- Forsyth County1
- Person County1
- Richmond County1
- Rockingham County1
- Rutherford County1
- Stokes County1
- Vance County1
- Yadkin County1
Where this comes from
The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.
Where people here have won
Projects stopped by a vote, pulled by their developer, or blocked in court.
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Garner, RaleighBeacon Partners | Withdrawn by the developer Beacon Partners withdrew the proposal, as the mayor of Raleigh confirmed. | Aug 15, 2026 | 13 acres | |
| Rural Hall, Forsyth CountyDrox Group | Denied by a vote County commissioners voted 5-2 against rezoning, after the planning board also said no in June. | Jul 30, 2026 | 129 acres, 1.3 million sq ft | |
| Kingsboro, Edgecombe CountyEnergy Storage Solutions | Withdrawn by the developer Developer withdrew after a special-use permit denial and county moratorium debate. | Jul 6, 2026 | 1,700 acres, 300 MW | |
| Apex (New Hill)Natelli Investments (New Hill Digital Campus) | Withdrawn by the developer Natelli withdrew its annexation and rezoning after a 5,000-signature petition, and Apex moved to pause data centers. | Mar 5, 2026 | 250 MW, 189 acres, 6 buildings | |
| MatthewsCrossland | Withdrawn by the developer The developers withdrew the rezoning after a petition gathered more than 2,700 signatures; the commissioners accepted the withdrawal and the land keeps its residential zoning. | Oct 8, 2025 | 123 acres, 5 buildings | |
| MooresvilleTract (Mooresville Technology Park) | Withdrawn by the developer Tract fully withdrew its rezoning after 200+ residents and Dale Earnhardt's son Kerry spoke out, weeks before the vote. | Aug 13, 2025 | 400 acres, 1.5 million sq ft | Story off site ↗ |
Moratoriums and bans in effect
Places in North Carolina that have paused or banned new data centers.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| StatesvilleTown or city | Moratorium | Sep 14, 2026 | Mar 13, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Vance County | Moratorium | Sep 14, 2026 | Nov 13, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Durham County | Moratorium | Aug 24, 2026 | May 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Alamance County | Moratorium | Aug 17, 2026 | Feb 17, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Yadkin County | Moratorium | Aug 17, 2026 | Aug 17, 2028 | Record off site ↗ |
| WaxhawTown or city | Moratorium | Aug 11, 2026 | Aug 10, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Edgecombe County | Moratorium | Aug 3, 2026 | Aug 3, 2028 | Record off site ↗ |
| Surry County | Moratorium | Jul 21, 2026 | Jul 21, 2028 | Record off site ↗ |
| Mount AiryTown or city | Moratorium | Jul 17, 2026 | Dec 13, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| FranklinTown or city | Moratorium | Jul 9, 2026 | Jul 9, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| AshevilleTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 23, 2026 | Jun 23, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Clay County | Moratorium | Jun 23, 2026 | Jun 23, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Holly SpringsTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 17, 2026 | Jun 17, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| City of DurhamTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 16, 2026 | May 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Madison County | Moratorium | Jun 16, 2026 | Jun 16, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Cumberland County | Moratorium | Jun 15, 2026 | Dec 15, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| CharlotteTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 8, 2026 | Nov 5, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Davie County | Moratorium | Jun 7, 2026 | Jun 7, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| FarmvilleTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 4, 2026 | Jun 4, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Pasquotank County | Moratorium | Jun 3, 2026 | Jun 3, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Boiling Spring LakesTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 2, 2026 | Jun 2, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| HillsboroughTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 1, 2026 | Jun 1, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Wake County | Moratorium | Jun 2026 | Jun 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| BaileyTown or city | Moratorium | May 26, 2026 | Mar 26, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| WilsonTown or city | Moratorium | May 26, 2026 | May 21, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| GarnerTown or city | Moratorium | May 19, 2026 | May 19, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| WoodfinTown or city | Moratorium | May 19, 2026 | May 19, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Northampton County | Moratorium | May 8, 2026 | Jan 8, 2029 | Record off site ↗ |
| Spring HopeTown or city | Moratorium | May 5, 2026 | May 5, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Harnett County | Moratorium | May 5, 2026 | May 5, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Watauga County | Moratorium | Apr 25, 2026 | Apr 25, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Orange County | Moratorium | Apr 21, 2026 | Oct 21, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Rowan County | Moratorium | Apr 21, 2026 | Apr 21, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Swain County | Moratorium | Apr 21, 2026 | Apr 21, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| ClydeTown or city | Moratorium | Apr 17, 2026 | Apr 17, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| ApexTown or city | Moratorium | Apr 14, 2026 | Apr 14, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| WendellTown or city | Moratorium | Apr 14, 2026 | Dec 31, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| BooneTown or city | Moratorium | Mar 24, 2026 | Mar 24, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Kings MountainTown or city | Moratorium | Feb 24, 2026 | Aug 26, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| CantonTown or city | Moratorium | Feb 11, 2026 | Feb 11, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
Showing the 40 most recent of 42. See them all in the moratorium tracker.
Zoning limits on data centers
Rules short of a pause: setbacks, noise caps, permit requirements and district limits.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Henderson County | Zoning limits | Jul 16, 2026 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| WeavervilleTown or city | Zoning limits | Apr 27, 2026 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| SanfordTown or city | Zoning limits | Not reported | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| Lee County | Zoning limits | Not reported | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.