Global Data Centers.formerly Florida Data Centers

Home/United States/Virginia/King George County

Data centers by place

Data centers in King George County, Virginia: 3 projects mapped

3 projects tracked
·
3 proposed or being built
·
1,200 MW from the one active project that reports a figure
Dahlgren West (Approved, 1,200 MW)AWS Birchwood (King George) (Proposed)Green Energy Ventures Data Center (Approved)
Imagery: Esri, Maxar
Tracked projectBigger dot, more power3 sites shown

King George County has approved three data center projects and is now fighting one of them in court. The largest, Oasis Digital Properties' Dahlgren West campus near the Navy base at Dahlgren, was approved unanimously in August 2025 for up to 1.2 gigawatts across ten buildings. The second, Green Energy Ventures' 300-acre campus at Kings Highway and Bloomsbury Road, was approved 3-2 in February 2026. The third, Amazon's 869-acre Birchwood campus, was approved by an earlier board in 2023, but the current board voted in early 2024 to rescind the county's agreement with Amazon; local news reported the board was "ready to go to war" with the company. The dispute is now in circuit court, with a trial set for September 2026; no result has been published.

Residents only learned the scale of what had been approved at a June 3, 2026 public-comment session that turned into an unplanned town hall. "This should've happened last year," said Supervisor Ken Stroud. Dahlgren West neighbor Briana Morgan told the board: "We bought our forever home. I've got little kids and I don't want a data center in my backyard." County Administrator Matthew Smolnik told residents the legislative process was already over: "The board of supervisors...are elected by the public...the legislative process is already over. Everything, from here on out, is administrative."

The board did answer some practical questions. Dahlgren West will use treated wastewater, not drinking water, to cool its equipment, and Northern Neck Electric Cooperative is charging the developer the full cost of connecting new power lines. When the first building permit is issued, the developer must pay King George $5 million for schools and county buildings. Virginia has no statewide rule on data centers, leaving decisions like these to counties.

Data center projects on record in King George County

Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.

King George2
ProjectCompanyStatusPower
Dahlgren WestKing George Oasis Digital Properties Approved 1,200 MW
AWS Birchwood (King George)King George Amazon Web Services Proposed Not reported
Elsewhere in King George County1
ProjectCompanyStatusPower
Green Energy Ventures Data Center Green Energy Ventures Approved Not reported

Where this comes from

The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.

Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.